Date: 17th October 2008 at 8:51pm
Written by:

Quick Facts:

Club name: Luton Town Football Club
Nicknamed: The Hatters
Founded: 1885
Ground: Kenilworth Road
Capacity: 10,260
Chairman: Nick Owen
Manager: Mick Harford
2007-08: League One, 24th (relegated)

In the beginning:

Sunday April 11, 1885. The day Luton Town Football Club was born. A meeting was called at the Village Hall about forming a football club for the town to call their own. Luton had two teams at the time with Luton Wanderers and Excelsior, both of which merged to become Luton Town.

Team selections were also a complete split between the two sides, with five Wanderers players and six Excelsior men taking up the Luton Town XI. This would change every game with Wanderers having the majority of players picked for the following game and so on.

Fast forward:

Obviously we can’t write every single detail through a very up and down 123 year history. So we pick up in 1982 after Luton Town had secured promotion to the First Division, David Pleat has just departed and in came the late great Ray Harford, who took on an impressive Luton squad including Les Sealey, Brian Stein, Danny Wilson, Ricky Hill, David Preece, Mal Donaghy and current Town gaffer Mick Harford.

The away fan ban:

The 1980s also saw Luton Town away supporters banned from Kenilworth Road following an invasion of the pitch from Millwall supporters during an FA Cup match. Millwall had requested to make the game an all ticket match but it was refused by Luton. The even worse thing was the supporters on the pitch weren’t even Millwall fans, they later turned out to be supporters of West Ham and Chelski.

More will follow soon…

Current Squad:

1 GK Dean Brill
2 DF Claude Gnakpa
3 DF Sol Davis
4 MF Keith Keane
5 DF Ian Roper
6 DF George Pilkington
7 MF Garreth O’Connor
8 MF Kevin Nicholls (captain)
9 FW Sam Parkin
10 FW Ryan Charles
11 MF Lewis Emanuel
12 DF Harry Worley (on loan from Leicester City)
14 MF Asa Hall
15 DF Ed Asafu-Adjaye
16 MF Rossi Jarvis
17 MF Kevin Watson
18 FW Chris Martin (on loan from Norwich City)
19 FW Drew Talbot
20 DF Michael Spillane (on loan from Norwich City)
21 GK Conrad Logan (on loan from Leicester City)
28 FW Paul McVeigh
33 DF Jake Howells
36 GK Aaron Fletcher
40 FW Scott Sinclair