Date: 7th May 2008 at 10:49pm
Written by:

ACCRINGTON Stanley manager John Coleman has this morning released ELEVEN first team squad members, telling them to seek a new club.

Goalkeeper Martin Fearon, defenders Graham Branch, Mark King, Mark Roberts, Sean Webb, midfielders David Mannix, Jay Harris, Shaun Whalley and strikers David Brown, Lee McEvilly and Leighton McGivern have all been given the chop in the bizarre move.

Shaun Whalley was crowned Vital Accrington Stanley’s Young Player of the Season just days ago after impressing throughout the season, but it wasn’t enough to tempt Coleman into a new contract offer.

Mark King, Mark Roberts, Sean Webb, David Mannix and Leighton McGivern all signed for Stanley throughout the 2007/08 season, and Mannix was even told he had a future at the club, but in a dramatic twist the midfielder has found himself leaving the club.

Graham Branch hasn’t enjoyed the best of times whilst in the Accrington Stanley shirt, and the Burnley legend finds himself a free agent after just one season at the Fraser Eagle Stadium.

‘It is a hard time of the year for managers having to let players go, however we haven’t performed as well as we would have liked this season and I have to make sure that we are a better side next season.’ said Accrington manager Coleman.

‘All the lads that are leaving us have been great to work with, they have given their all for Accrington Stanley and on behalf of everyone at the club I wish them all the best for the future.’

Vital Accrington would like to wish all eleven players the best of luck in their future careers.